Setting up a new Charity

Hi everyone, I have decided to create this blog to record my progress with trying to start up a new children’s charity. The reason I am doing this is that I have recently discovered just how many of the existing charities work, for example some of the bigger charities have managers that earn upwards of £250000 a year, these same charities spend millions on television adverts. They seem more in the business of making money rather than giving it away. This really frustrates me as I can see there are loads of underprivileged, vulnerable and ill people throughout the world.  So I’ve decided to try and make my small contribution, I am a student and don’t have much money to donate so I thought that instead I could raise money.

I understand that by myself I wont be able to raise a substantial amount of money and thus I have decided to concentrate locally (Hull, UK) and the people that are most in need, children. My idea is to set up a children’s charity called “Superheroes for Children”, the aim is to raise money and then at Christmas and on special occasions give children in children’s homes, hospital, hospices etc presents.

I plan on setting up the charity with volunteers who will dress as superheroes raising money in town centres, shopping centres etc, this will be done by donations, paying for stickers, photographs with the superheroes and possibly organising charity events.  The way in which I will differ from the majority of Charities out there is that I plan on giving 100% of the money to charity, no one will earn a wage, volunteers will be doing that simply because they want to make a difference.

Currently my one obstacle to setting this up is COSTUMES, it is important to me that I do this as professionally as possible. I want good costumes so that people will have the desire to donate and take it seriously, also people are more likely to want photographs with the superheroes. When they have photographs taken the superhero will hold up a sign with a link to the charity facebook page, hopefully gaining more donations.

I think that having a really good costume will also make the experience of the superhero visiting the children much more exciting and memorable.

I have set up a Crowdfunder webpage to raise money for costumes, as soon as they are purchased I will get things moving quickly.

Here is a link

http://www.crowdfunder.co.uk/superheroes-for-the-children/

Please visit.

Also please leave messages on my blog or my facebook

www.facebook.com/superheroes4children

 

Thanks

Leave a comment